Volunteers Made a Difference at GHM

Dana Wilkin and her family

HEARTS OVERFLOWING: A VOLUNTEER’S STORY

Dana Wilkin, GHM Volunteer

Dana Wilkin volunteers her graphic art skills for GHM and we are very grateful for her invaluable help.  Recently she shared the story of her journey to partner with us as a volunteer.  We were amazed at the way God used a job move, an act of terror, a dream, and a coincidental meeting to bring Dana to us.

In 2014 Dana and her family moved to Texas from Washington state for her husband’s job, but they were completely without connections in their new home. As they went about the task of plugging into their new surroundings, the world was erupting into violence.  On February 15, 2015 she was shocked by the news that twenty-one Egyptian Christians had been beheaded.  She was sad, but not moved to action.

A Dream from God

“Then,” she explained, “God got involved. One night after the story aired, I had an extremely vivid dream in which I was helping people escape from ISIS and Islam. The image I remember mostly clearly was grabbing a woman’s hand and bringing her with me into safety…I had no doubt that the Lord had given me that dream,” even though He had never chosen to communicate with her in that way before .

She continues, “So there I was, hurting with a passion for a group of people and had no idea what to do to help. My husband and I talked about giving money but didn’t really know to who or to what and I just felt there was something more I was to do. There was not a possibility of personally going because I have three very small children. I waited, I prayed, I questioned, what do you want me to do God?”

Gaylynne and Steve Sharp

A “Coincidental” Meeting

Here at GHM, we’re not surprised when God uses dreams to touch hearts.  It happens all the time in the Middle East and Central Asia.  However, God wasn’t through.  He’d inspired her to action, but he needed to introduce her to us.

Through a series of divine coincidences, Dana met Gaylynne Sharp, the wife of our President/CEO & Founder, Steve Sharp.  The occasion was a play date Dana’s kids enjoyed with their grandfather.  When Gaylynne shared the story of GHM Dana says, “My heart started racing. I started thinking in my head, do I tell this person I just met about a dream I think God gave me? My normal answer would be no way! Once again, God gave me a little push and I shared with her about what God had placed on my heart.”

Gaylynne took down Dana’s contact information, making notes about her previous graphic arts work for a youth ministry back in Washington.  Soon Dana “got an email about whether I would consider doing graphic work for the organization…. At this point I got really excited, this was something I could do here in Texas, still having my little kids running around but having some part in reaching the Middle East and Central Asia for Jesus. I respond with a big yes.”

About her valuable work for us, Dana says, “God has a plan and I am just grateful I get to be a part of it in any small way.”  Are you someone with a heart like Dana’s?  You’ve heard about the awful acts of terror in the Middle East and Central Asia, but you don’t know how you can do anything about it?  Rest assured, whatever gift God has given to you, we can use it here at GHM.

Join Your Heart to Ours

Volunteering your gifts and talents is just one of the ways you can partner with Global Heart Ministries to fulfill The Great Commission in this generation. Together we can bring the light and the truth of Jesus Christ right into the living rooms of every deceived child, every oppressed woman, and every hurting home. This is our message. This is our call.

We invite you to join this vision as a volunteer, a prayer warrior, or a financial donor.  Contact us today by phone or email.  Let us know how you’d like to partner with us as we reach out to the Most Unreached Regions of the World.

 

Leave a Reply

